I don’t need The Pogues in my Christmas thanks.

I know a good 90% of you will argue with me, but quite frankly I don’t care because I’ve had several debates the last week or so on this.

Fairytale of New York by The Pogues. This is my problem.
I’m not saying I totally dislike the song, because it’s alright. But, it’s the fact that nearly every christmas it appears Number 1 on the music charts.

If you ask people what there favourite christmas song is, so many people don’t even hesitate and say The Pogues. But WHY!

Let’s take a look at some of the lyrics…

” You´re a bum you´re a punk
You´re an old slut on junk
Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed
You scumbag you maggot
You cheap lousy faggot
Happy christmas your arse I pray god it´s our last.”

A lot of people argue that the song just signifys so many people’s christmases. Arguing, Joking, just generally being vulgar. But, I can definately say that a part from the odd hiccup on Christmas day, I would never turn to anyone and say ‘I hope this is our last christmas together’ or to argue. It is Christmas after all!

Now you’re probably starting to get really annoyed at me now. But just to clarify, I don’t hate the song, I just think it shouldn’t be constantly voted as the best christmas song. We need happiness, jingle bells, snow, santa etc. Not two drunks singing an overplayed song. Or is this the alcoholic society we’ve turned in to… Who Knows.

I can never quite put a finger on what my favourite christmas song is, but I think you should all definately check out this slightly modern, ‘funked up’ version of The Snowman’s ‘Walking in the air.’
It’s an absolute cracker…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkZ47BhpH_U


One thought on “I don’t need The Pogues in my Christmas thanks.

  1. I’ve never ever heard of this as a popular Christmas song. Perhaps it isn’t popular as a Christmas song where I live. I’ve always taken the vulgar banter between the two as joking in their own way of being mean to each other. It’s romantic and Christmas-like in a roundabout manner.

    I agree with you though, I just don’t see how it could be popular round Christmas…

Leave a Reply

